The Department of Social Anthropology, together with the Departments of Sociology and Psychology, constitute the Faculty of Social Sciences at Panteion University.


Dean of the Faculty: Prof. Theodore Sakellaropoulos
Head of Department: Prof. Athena Athanasiou
Director of the Postgraduate Program: Associate Prof. Eirini Tountasaki
Director of the Laboratory of Anthropological Research: Assist. Professor Eleana Yalouri
Departmental Secretary:  Maria Tzanoudaki

Governing Bodies of the Department:

Departmental Assembly: The Departmental Assembly is the supreme governing and academic body of the Department and decides on its research and academic policy.

Departmental Assembly for Postgraduate Studies: The Departmental Assembly for Postgraduate Studies oversees and decides on all matters related to postgraduate studies (Master’s and Ph.D. Programs).

Steering Committee for Postgraduate Studies:

Eirini Tountasaki, Associate Professor (Director of the Postgraduate Program)
Athena Athanasiou, Professor (Head of Department)
Leonidas Ekonomou, Associate Professor
Niki Maroniti, Assistant Professor
Diana Riboli, Assistant Professor


Heads of Department (from the Department’s establishment to date)

1 Dimitra Gefou-Madianou 2003-2007
2 Eleni Papagaroufali 2007-2009
3 Gerasimos Makris 2009-2011
4 Eleni Papagaroufali 2011-2013
5 Giorgos Tsimouris 2013-2015
6 Athena Athanasiou 2015-to date





ergastirio logo

panteion banner

erasmus banner

panteion ELKE banner




+30 210 920 1047,  +30 210 920 1048
  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  136, Syggrou ave. 176 71 Athens, Greece